About the University hosting the IASE Conference

Located in Magamba, north of Lushoto township (Usambara mountains) in Tanga region

Owned by the North Eastern Diocese of the Evangelical  Lutheran Church in Tanzania

Started as Sebastian Kolowa University College (SEKUCo) of Tumaini University on 28th October 2007

The International Association of Special Education (IASE) began sending professors and lecturers to the university college in mid-2008

Evolved into a full-fledged university on 30th September 2012 named Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University (SEKOMU)

First university in Tanzania to train Special Education teachers at Bachelor degree level

Offers Special Education degree at postgraduate level since 2013

The first university in East Africa to start the BSc in Mental Health and Rehabilitation degree programme

Selected at the 15th Biennial IASE Conference held in Perth, Australia, to host the 16th Biennial IASE Conference

Preparations began in June 2005. The Executive Council of the NED appointed Rev. Dr. Anneth Munga to direct preparations of a university college in the diocese. Rev. Dr. A. Munga worked together with a Steering Committee that consisted of the following members:

  • Dr. Fanuel Shechambo – Chairman (deceased 2011)
  • Hon. Elias Goroi 
  • Rev. James Mwinuka
  • Prof. Maurice Mbago
  • Prof. Amos Mhina
  • Prof. Rogers Malimbwi
  • Dr. Martha Mvungi – (deceased 2018)
  • Dr. Stephen Magesa
  • Ms. Juliana Malange
  • Mr. Ibrahim Kaduma
  • Mr. Moses Kibwana